Creamy Pizza With Bacon, Mushrooms and Onion

I came across this blog with an interesting looking pizza recipe so I decided to try something like it. I am a huge fan of homemade pizza because they always seem to taste better than anything you can buy and you get to choose exactly what you want on it. I have never made pizza with a creamy base before so I was curious how it would turn out. Plus anything with bacon and caramelized onions has to be good. That’s a fact.

As well as the bacon and onion I also felt like using mushrooms, feta and a few rocket leaves. I used ricotta and sour cream in the sauce which I think worked really well and the overall sensation was quite light and tasty with just enough flavour from the toppings.

I made the pizza bases as well and they came out lovely. Thin, with crispy edges and a nice bready texture.

Pizza dough is incredibly simple but you do need to allow some time for it to rise properly. If time is a factor or you can’t be bothered, pre-bought bases are absolutely fine.

Here’s how I make mine:

  • 3 cups plain flour
  • 2 tsp yeast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 cup water (not cold)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil

Combine dry ingredients well in a metal bowl and add wet ingredients. Stir until it begins to come together and tip out onto a floured surface. Knead it all together for a minute or so until it becomes consistent and stretchy. Put back in bowl, cover with clingwrap and leave in a warm place to rise for 1-2 hours. To speed up the rising time you can half fill a sink with hot water, place dough in bowl over the water and cover the whole sink with a tea-towel to trap the warmth. My Italian friend Michael gave me the tip of leaving it in the oven (turned off) to rise; and if you have a big enough bowl you could do the hot water thing in there as well.

Rolling out the dough

Once the dough has doubled in size you can cut it into pieces and roll out to form bases. You will get about 4 thin bases from the above quantities. You might wish to bake the bases for a few minutes first to crisp them up before adding toppings.

For the sauce I used equal amounts of ricotta and sour cream, but the recipe I copied from suggested that creme fraiche could be used in place of sour cream, and fromage blanc could be used in place of ricotta. I personally enjoyed the taste of the ricotta and the sour cream was not overpowering at all. I used about a cup of each but I didn’t measure, and to this I added 1 Tbsp flour to thicken it up and seasoned well with salt & pepper.

For toppings I used:

  • a pack of shortback bacon (200-300g?)
  • 2 brown onions sliced thinly
  • bbq sauce
  • 8-10 button mushrooms
  • a few cubes of plain feta
  • cheddar cheese
  • some rocket

I roughly tore up the bacon with my hands (rustic?) and fried to slight crispiness, then drained on paper towel. In the same pan I caramelized the onions with a little barbecue sauce until just soft.

Spread creamy sauce over the bases with a spoon. Sprinkle with cheese. Add everything else except the rocket. Bake on a metal tray at about 180C for 10 minutes or so, until the bases are browned slightly on bottom. Take out of oven and top with the rocket.

Turkey and Muffy ate nearly one each so they must have been okay.

Published in: on May 10, 2011 at 1:34 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cupcakesarepretentious.wordpress.com/2011/05/10/creamy-pizza-with-bacon-mushrooms-and-onion/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I really like the fresh rocket, I think it would have really complemented the cream on the base. You seem to have done a really good job rolling the base, which can be tough.

    • Gosh thanks Mr Ex-Pizza Maker! Thanks for taking the time to have a look and comment.

  2. It was delicious, I can’t wait to have it again for dinner tonight! A+


Leave a Reply

