Apple & Custard Pastries

I’ve had green apples in the fridge for about a month, and have been feeling guilty about not using them. Today I was thinking about making apple and cinnamon sticky buns, but I was out of butter and didn’t fancy another trip to the supermarket. I was ready to give up on this dream when I spotted some puff pastry in the freezer and decided to experiment.

I love green apples. They are so fresh tasting (and looking) with firm white flesh that stays crisp many weeks after you buy them. Granny Smiths are perfect for cooking with and hold their shape well.

For the pastries I peeled and chopped a couple of apples, which I couldn’t resist photographing.

Then I caramelised them with brown sugar and margarine (I would have used butter if I had it).

I made a super thick custard just using custard powder and milk, and added sugar to sweeten.

I spread some custard on a floured sheet of puff pastry and topped with apple. Then I rolled it up and sliced it into scrolls. It was an extremely messy process, hence the lack of photos. I baked them on lined trays at about 200C for 15 minutes or so.

They taste pretty good I think. Muffy came home and ate about all of them and didn’t throw up after. That usually means success with Muffy.

Dusted with sugar and served with cream

Published in: on May 19, 2011 at 2:03 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cupcakesarepretentious.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/apple-custard-pastries/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I ate them all, soo you should probably make some more :P
    Seriously, they’re amazing. I love desserts I can gorge on that don’t make me feel ill and regret afterwards.

  2. They look fantastic and I can imagine their deliciousness now… if only I had apples T_T (already have everything else, conveniently). That is one heckova good result for an experiment!

    • Thanks. Muffy has been nagging me to make them again so I might see if I can improve them a bit and take better pictures.

  3. Those look great, love the improvisation. You can’t go wrong with apples and puff pastry.

    • Thankyou, and I agree.

  4. You already know as a result tremendously in terms of this trouble, made myself in my opinion accept it coming from a lot of quite a few attitudes. It is just like people will not be serious until it can be think about attain by using Kesha! Your special stuffs good. Constantly maintain it way up!


Leave a Reply

