Fried Rice

Fried rice is perfect for using up leftover rice, vegetables and meat you might have in your fridge. In fact, it’s the only time I really make it. Last night on MasterChef the contestants made fried rice in a challenge, so I was feeling a little inspired. I also had heaps of coconut rice left over from a few days ago and some other things I wanted to use up, so fried rice was an obvious choice.

In addition to the pre-cooked rice, I ended up using:

  • garlic
  • red onion
  • spring onion
  • shallots
  • red pepper
  • carrot
  • mushrooms
  • peas
  • corn
  • chicken

Really you can use whatever you want, in any quantities, but it’s best to have a source of protein or two plus a good selection of flavoursome vegetables.

Ideally you should use peanut or sesame oil for frying as they add a nice flavour, but any oil is fine really. Get the wok or pan really hot before adding the rice, and maintain a high temperature whilst frying. I fried the chicken, garlic, onions and shallots separately first and then added them after the rice. I used a little fish sauce, salt, pepper, soy sauce, and curry powder towards the end, but it’s important not to add too much.

I haven’t made a lot of fried rice but I’m getting better at it. Next time I think I’ll use Chinese sausage or barbecued pork for the meat and maybe some bacon too. I’d also like to boost the flavour a bit more with some ginger, and perhaps some shao hsing wine or vinegar, and a little sugar to balance out the flavours. I might replace the fish sauce with oyster sauce as well.

Published in: on May 24, 2011 at 9:42 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cupcakesarepretentious.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/fried-rice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I also find fried rice is a great way to get vegies into kids.

    I like the idea of adding a bit of curry powder – I take it, just a sprinkle to enhance the flavour?

    • Thanks for the comment! It’s a great way to get vegies into adults too!

      Yeah I just use a pinch of curry powder. I know it’s not your standard ingredient but it does add a little flavour without extra saltiness and also a beautiful yellow colour!

  2. It looks great, and your future experimentation ideas sound like they’d work well.

    The two tips I’ve heard for fried rice are to always use at least day-old cooked rice (cook it more recently than that and it just isn’t dry enough) and to use white pepper if you’re aiming for that chinese restaurant taste. To add more flavour, I’ve seen it made with abalone (or oyster) sauce, light soy sauce, chicken stock (potentially from boiling the chicken you’re adding), a pinch of sugar and a dash of pepper, along with whatever meat/veg/egg you throw in. You can also get ready fried crispy garlic chips (these ‘chips’ are pretty tiny) from asian stores and add those, especially if you want a quick flavourful alternative to using multiple sauces + stock. For something more unusual you could try using star anise.

    Lovely idea behind the blog by the way :)

    • I think I will have to get myself some white pepper. I always thought it was just used when you didn’t want specks of black in the final product, but I’ve since learnt it has a slightly different flavour.

      Thanks for your suggestions and comments!


Leave a Reply

