Turkey Schnitzel with Asparagus and Camembert Cream Sauce

Our local supermarket has a very small section for free range meats, usually just chicken cuts and sometimes marinated things if you’re lucky. The other day they also had free range turkey schnitzels which I’ve never seen before, so I grabbed them. I instantly knew that I wanted to eat them with asparagus and camembert – that’s just how my mind works.

So, for dinner tonight I pan fried two schnitzels in butter and whipped up a couple of sides. I must say, I cooked the asparagus perfectly tonight for probably the first time. The secret, I think, is to lightly salt boiling water and just drop them in for a few minutes until they bend slightly when picked up in the middle. They should stay bright green and be slightly pliable, but not limp. I used a quarter of a camembert round and just melted it in a bain-marie above the same pot of water that the asparagus was cooking in. I would recommend cutting off the outer edge though because that doesn’t melt too well, which I found out. To this I added a bit of cream, salt and pepper. I also served it with some packet carbonara just for the carbs. Sweet potato fries would have been a delicious alternative in hindsight.

 

Published in: on June 25, 2011 at 12:35 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cupcakesarepretentious.wordpress.com/2011/06/25/turkey-schnitzel-with-asparagus-and-camembert-cream-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

