Cherry Berry Cheesecake

There has been a serious lack of baked goods in our house for a while now. I just haven’t been in the mood I guess. I thought I should end the drought with a cheesecake that I have been meaning to try. A friend brought a black-forest-inspired cheesecake to a barbecue sometime last year and since then I’ve wanted to make something similar. I don’t have a recipe, but I’ve made enough cheesecakes now that I thought I could just wing it.

The crust is made from finely crushed chocolate biscuits and melted butter. I used a tall glass to press the mixture against the sides and bottom of an 8″ spring-form pan and then baked it for 20 minutes to set. I used cream cheese, mascarpone and sour cream for the filling with sour cherries mixed through. I added a decent amount of kirsch as well to boost the cherry flavour.  The jelly on top is just the liquid from the jar of cherries with some gelatin added.

The combination of chocolate crust and creamy cheesecake studded with whole cherries is a winner. I didn’t measure anything as I was making it but I can probably write a close approximation of the recipe if anyone is interested – just leave a comment if you are. I promise it was easier than it looks.

EDIT:

Cherry Berry Cheesecake

  • 2 x 250g packets plain chocolate biscuits
  • ~100g butter
  • 500g cream cheese
  • 200ml light sour cream
  • 200ml mascarpone
  • ~1 Tbsp gelatin +2 tsp gelatin extra
  • ~1/2 cup caster sugar
  • Kirsch liqueur
  • 1 x 680g jar sour cherries
  • Berries to serve

Preheat oven to 170C.

Crush chocolate biscuits to a fine crumb, using whatever method works best for you.

Melt butter and add to biscuit crumbs. Press the crumb mixture against the sides and base of an oiled springform tin (8-9” diameter). A glass with straight sides might help with this. Bake for 15 minutes to set the base and then allow to cool.

Sprinkle 1 Tbsp gelatin over a small amount of cold water to absorb.

Combine cream cheese, sour cream and mascarpone using a food processor, immersion blender or by hand. Beaters are not suitable as they incorporate too much air. Blend until smooth.

Add about 2 Tbsp kirsch or to taste.

Add about ½ cup sugar or to taste.

Pour about ¼ cup of boiling water over the gelatin and stir to dissolve. Add more water if necessary. Combine with the mixture.

Drain jar of cherries, reserving the juice.

Stir cherries through cheese mixture plus any other berries you might like to use. Pour mixture into the crumb base and smooth out the top. Allow to set in the fridge for 30-60 minutes.

Sprinkle 2 tsp gelatin over a small amount of the cherry juice to absorb. Heat the remaining juice in a saucepan until hot but not boiling. Combine the two and stir until gelatin is dissolved. When cool, gently pour over the cheesecake (on a level surface) and return to fridge to completely set overnight.

To remove the cake from the tin it might be necessary to run a knife around the edge.

Store covered in the fridge to prevent drying out for 7-10 days (or depending on the use by date of the dairy ingredients).

Published in: on November 10, 2011 at 10:54 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cupcakesarepretentious.wordpress.com/2011/11/10/cherry-berry-cheesecake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is crazy beautiful, and looks delicious.
    I so admire your impeccable presentation.

    • Thankyou Nicola! I am my toughest critic for sure – the reason I keep neglecting this blog is because I don’t like most of my photos. I have much respect for real food stylists now.

  2. stunning, stunning, stunning!!! Please can you give me some method/recipe tips because I really want to have this on my christmas dinner table!
    BTW I used to know a food photographer and they have to use some extreme and unpalatable methods to make the food look right under those hot lights.

    • Thankyou so much. I have now added the recipe. It should be pretty close to what I did but some of the amounts I was unsure of.

      I have also heard some rather unpleasant ‘industrial secrets’ like the use of shoe polish to make meat appear browner etc.

  3. thank you for taking the time to write that down for us. I’m really looking forward to making this. I might just have to make a secret baby one just for myself :)
    Have a lovely christmas.

    • You’re very welcome. I found that using an 8″ tin there was a bit of mixture leftover anyway so I made two mini cakes – minus the biscuit base.

      • I know this is very late, but I did make it AND it was delicious and as there were only 6 of us there was plenty left for me!


Leave a Reply

