Rice Pudding with Caramel Sauce

Rice pudding is a strange thing. I remember eating it as a kid on Scout camps where it was cooked over the fire. I made it for the first time myself recently and quite liked it. Since then I haven’t been able to get enough. This time I decided to make a caramel sauce to pour over it with icecream. It works well I think. If rice pudding is your thing, you might like it too.


Rice Pudding

  • 3/4 cup short-grain rice, such as arborio
  • 1L milk
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1-2 Tbsp sugar

Place rice, milk and salt in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir occasionally until boiling, then reduce heat.

Continue stirring occasionally for about 20 minutes, or until it has thickened slightly and the rice is tender.

Add sugar to taste (remember the caramel sauce will add sweetness too). You can also add cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg, lemon rind or other flavourings if you wish.

Caramel Sauce

Approx equal quantities of:

  • brown sugar
  • golden syrup
  • butter
  • cream

Combine in a saucepan over low heat. Bring to boil, then reduce to a simmer. Once sugar has dissolved and sauce has thickened slightly, remove from heat.

Pour over hot or cold rice pudding with a scoop of icecream for good measure.

Published in: on November 28, 2011 at 11:33 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cupcakesarepretentious.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/rice-pudding-with-caramel-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yummmm! I love rice pudding. The first time I made it was on a whim in Italy in January. I had a bunch of rice left over from my dinner of rice and peas and I decided to experiment with adding milk and sugar and cinnamon to it and it was awesome. I guess I had a lot of rice that night. My diet got really weird over there :P

    Cool story Nicola. This recipe looks delicious. Must do.

    • That was an excellent story. Rice pudding is obviously underrated.

  2. Hi there! I just would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the good information you will have here on this post.
    I might be coming again to your weblog for extra soon.

  3. Ahaa, its fastidious conversation about this piece of writing at
    this place at this website, I have read all that, so at this
    time me also commenting here.


Leave a Reply

