About

Hello and welcome!

I created this blog because I wanted a place to share recipes with my family, friends and readers. I’ve always had a strong interest in food, but since moving out of home a few years ago, I have had to learn more about cooking just to survive. I love carbs more than anything and struggle to imagine a meal without them. Naturally I love pastas and just about anything with potato. I also have a soft spot for the flavours of India and south East Asia. Mexican food is something I’m new to but I enjoy it now and then. I will post recipes that my family has always loved as well as any great recipes my friends share with me. I have friends from a fairly wide range of ethnic backgrounds (in Australia everyone is from somewhere, basically) so I am excited to share the recipes that my semi-adventurous Western palate decides are good. Over time this blog will become a resource of dinner ideas for myself, and maybe for my readers too.

This blog has also become a place for me to experiment with food photography. I have never really had an interest in photography before, but I was displeased with the quality of the photos in my early entries and quickly found myself trying to take better ones. I still struggle to take pictures I like but I am learning a lot and will hopefully get a real camera one day.

Every now and then I will write a review about a restaurant that I’ve been to. I find reviews a very challenging thing to do so I don’t always write them after dining out, especially if I haven’t got much good to say. The restaurants I visit are generally around the northern suburbs of Perth, but occasionally I venture out to Northbridge or Fremantle etc.

Baking is something I’ve always had an interest in. In particular, I like baking cakes. I usually made my own birthday cakes from a fairly young age and it’s something I’ve gotten back into recently – so expect to see a few cake recipes. I don’t do desserts often but when I do they tend to be rich, decadent affairs. I love butter and cream and chocolate. I also find fruit to be an inspiring ingredient.

I don’t have anything against cupcakes. They have their charms. But 9 times out of 10 I’d be happier with a humble muffin.

I hope you find something you like here!

 

– Matt

Published in: on January 3, 2012 at 12:03 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cupcakesarepretentious.wordpress.com/2012/01/03/about/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

